After nearly five decades since its initial discovery, the room believed to have served as Michelangelo’s refuge from political enemies in 1530 is now open to the public. The compact space, measuring 10 m in length, 3 m in width, and reaching a height of 2,50 m, became a canvas for the artist who sketched dozens of drawings on the walls. For the first time ever, this unique space will be accessible to the public from November 15, 2023, through March 30, 2024, and can be reached through the New Sacristy within the Medici Chapels Museum in Florence, Italy.
In November 1975, Paolo Dal Poggetto, the then-director of the Museum of the Medici Chapels (find more here), enlisted the restorer Sabino Giovannoni to conduct cleaning experiments in a narrow passageway below the apse of the New Sacristy. This was part of a preliminary inspection to find a suitable area for creating a new museum exit. Instead of fidning a new passageway, the room was discovered.
Featured image: the compact space is 10 m in length, 3 m in width, and 2,50 m in height | all images courtesy of the Bargello Museums
Read the original article here… and return to share your comments on artistvenu below.